Michael Barnett brings more than thirty-six years of varied architectural experience to SBL Architecture, Inc. He is a founding principal of the firm and serves as Principal / Project Manager, Designer, and Production Coordinator, as required by his various project assignments.

Mr. Barnett began his career in 1978 with a civil engineering firm in Dallas while completing his architectural studies. Mike earned his Bachelor of Science Degree in Architecture in 1980 from the University of Texas at Arlington. He was active in various student organizations related to the architectural profession during his Junior and Senior years.

Mike regularly attends seminars and programs for continuing education in the architectural profession, ranging from in-depth technical seminars to monthly programs sponsored by the American Institute of Architects and other organizations concerning architecture for healthcare or the general practice of architecture. One of Mike’s priorities is to extend his commitment to continuing education to the staff of SBL Architecture, Inc.

In 1980, Mike joined the architectural firm of Mills & Mills, Inc. as its first architectural employee. He served in every capacity necessary for that small firm to thrive, helping it develop into a successful fifteen-person firm during his eight years there. His primary responsibilities included project management, project design and production, and marketing.

In 1988 Mike joined the firm of Rees Associates, Inc. in Dallas, where he completed more than 100 project assignments as Project Manager during his six-year tenure. He also played key roles in marketing, office management, and human resources development. Mike left Rees in 1994 to co-found Sterling Barnett Little, Inc, which is now SBL Architecture, Inc.

Mike is a licensed architect in the state of Texas. An active member of the American Institute of Architects, he has served as Chairman of the Dallas Chapter AIA Committee on Architecture for Health. Mike has actively participated in a broad spectrum of AIA Committees since 1980.